Breakfast?

Morning meals seem to be natural for me. Regardless of how early or late I wake up, my day always starts with a good breakfast. The days that I am forced to miss this meal – you don’t even want to talk to me. Breakfast gets me alert and awake in the morning, and I feel it’s the most important meal of the day. Being American, I lean on the sweeter side. I grew up eating cereal and eggo waffles; looking to improve my health, I began to make my own baked goods for breakfast, such as whole wheat scones, muffins, and pancakes.

High school rolled along and I noticed I’d be starving by 2nd period. Looking for a heartier, yet healthy breakfast, I switched to eating steel cut oats. I’m sure you’ve heard of this; if you haven’t yet added it to your pantry, it’s the type of oatmeal that they sell at Jamba juice and Starbucks. Not as mushy as the microwave dinosaur oatmeal I’d grown up with, steel cut oats allow you to feel each grain on your tongue, almost like risotto. I began to love waking up to my bowl of hearty oats each morning, that I’d reheat after cooking them every sunday (they take 30 minutes to cook).

My typical favorite add-ins are jam, brown sugar, maple syrup, and cocoa powder (all time best). Check out this recipe for the chocolate oats. Typically I omit the banana because I like my cocoa 100% unsweetened. Dark chocolate is the best thing to wake up to in the morning.

When I feel particularly adventurous, I go savory with my breakfast route. Since I don’t have much time in the morning, I don’t add an egg (though that would be delicious), but instead opt for scallions, soy sauce/fish sauce/miso, and vietnamese chà bông, also known as rousong or, in english, pork floss. Personally, I think the translation of chà bông in english sounds terrible, like some bizarre meat cotton-candy; rather, “pork floss” when added to a liquid, soup, or even oatmeal becomes more like pulled pork.

Yes, this might sound odd to some of you but it’s very similar in taste to congee, juk, or chao, asian savory porridges that are great to start a wintry morning. Check out this recipe here:
Asian Inspired Savory Oatmeal Recipe

Lately, I’ve been eating oat bran because 1) I’m too lazy to cook steel cut oats and 2) there are nutritional differences. I’ll get into that in a later post, but for now, I implore you to add steel cut oats to your daily breakfast routine!

5 thoughts on “Breakfast?

  1. Looks awesome!
    xx Tia
    acaffeinatedbrunette.com

  2. I agree – steel cut oats are the way to go! Your photos are quite enticing. I agree – brown sugar is a great pairing (as are blueberries in the summer or apples in Autumn!).

Leave a Reply

