Fusing cultures with LA-style Sweet Rice Cakes!

Yes, I know, it seems like I’ve forgotten all about this blog. But don’t worry! I just have a lot of college-related things to do, but I’ll try to post at least once a week.

Anyway, onto the recipe. This is a recipe from Koreans who began to move to LA, but missed the sweet korean rice cakes they had back home. Instead of recreating them, they tweaked the recipe so that the rice cakes are baked (!) rather than steamed. The result is a wonderfully delicious bar that has the interior of a mochi (if you don’t know what mochi is, it’s a chewy, soft sweet made of pounded sticky rice) yet a slightly crunchy, golden brown exterior akin to a quickbread crust. The fillings are completely up to you!

Action shots of mine –

Ready to stir; I recommend azuki beans and sesame seeds!

Image

Image

I love this recipe because it’s so simple! My favorite filling is azuki/red beans to go with the asian theme, it may sound weird to put beans in a dessert but you just have to try it. Also sesame seeds (of both colors) add a nice toasty flavor.

From Beyond Kimchee

LA Style Sweet Rice Cake Bars

Prep Time: 10 minutes

Cook Time: 30 minutes

Yield: about 20 bars

LA Style Sweet Rice Cake Bars

Ingredients

3 cup glutinous rice flour (DO NOT SUB RICE FLOUR, you can find this at an asian/specialty grocery)
1-1/2 to 2 cups brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 cup milk (Soy, lowfat, skim, whole, I bet even almond would work)
1 teaspoon vanilla
1-2 cups fillings (nuts, raisins, pistachios, COOKED azuki beans, chocolate chips, sesame seeds, etc… possibilities are endless)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375ºF
  2. In a large bowl whisk together rice flour, brown sugar, baking soda, and salt. Pour milk and vanilla and stir to mix well.
  3. Add the fillings. Mix well.
  4. Pour the batter over well greased 9×13 inch pan. Bake for 30-35 minutes until the top gets brown and crisp.
  5. Cool completely and cut into bars. Wrap leftover bars with plastic wrap and store in the fridge.Happy munching!
5 thoughts on “Fusing cultures with LA-style Sweet Rice Cakes!

  1. *_*
    I am in awe
    I love love love azuki beans and these cake bars look heavenly to me
    Well done!
    Have a lovely evening 🙂
    Lou

  2. I love sweet desserts with beans! Reminds me of my childhood. I really wanna try this with almond milk. 🙂

  3. YUM! I love rice cakes with red bean or sesame paste, but I’ve never had them like this, I don’t think. I’ll have to give this a try after I re-stock my pantry with glutinous rice flour 😉

  4. […] Fusing cultures with LA-style Sweet Rice Cakes! (gastronomiette.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

