A Dutch Bread Recipe – Ontbijtkoek

This weekend ended up being a lazy one – Saturday night and I had nothing to do (or nothing I wanted to) so I decided to take on some ambitious Sunday breakfast prep. I was looking for a recipe to use up the rest of my rye flour, and I stumbled upon this delicious looking Dutch recipe, Ontbijtkoek. Typically eaten at breakfast, it’s a fairly heavily spiced, lightly sweetened quick bread that means “breakfast cake”. It’s natural accompaniment is a nice slather of butter, as the bread is fat free.

If only smells could come through photos. 20131112-133300.jpg

The recipe is from The Dutch Table, which is a great blog all about Dutch cuisine! You should check it out if you love speculoos/cookie butter or are curious about cooking from other countries.

Ontbijtkoek (Breakfast cake/bread)

1 cup Rye flour

1 cup All purpose flour

3 tsp baking powder

2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp cardamom

1/2 tsp cloves

1/2 tsp ginger

1/2 cup dark brown sugar (I used medium)

1/2 cup dark molasses (I used blackstrap)

1/2 cup honey

1 cup milk

1/4 tsp salt

 

Preheat the oven to 300 degrees. Mix the dry ingredients, then add the wet into a smooth batter. Pour into a greased loaf pan. Bake for about 60 minutes, until an inserted toothpick comes out clean. Transfer to a cooling rack and slice once cooled (I waited until the next morning). Serve warm or toasted with a pat of butter. I enjoyed it plain, too.

 

Keep in mind this bread will make your house smell AMAZING, so it’s great for fall!

20131112-133314.jpg

On Rye flour: Yes, this is a necessary for this bread, it gives a nice wholesome, nutty flavor. I had an old bag lying around with just enough. Actually, I hate working with rye flour, but this recipe made me reconsider. I’ve tried adding it to yeasted breads, but they always become hard as rock if I use any at all. With this recipe, leavened with baking powder rather than the more finicky yeast, I felt the bread was not rock-like at all, and is pleasingly dense. 20131112-133344.jpg

3 thoughts on “A Dutch Bread Recipe – Ontbijtkoek

  1. It looks and seems really yummy for breakfast! I wonder if it will taste the same gluten-free???? Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    • I’m sure the spices would be great in a gluten free bread, but rye isn’t gluten free and gives such a nice flavor 😥 Then again I’ve never baked gluten free (gasp), and I’m sure there’s an adequate rye substitute out there somewhere! Thanks for visiting!!

Leave a Reply

