Quick-but-healthy popcorn

Hey guys! I’ve been busy lately so I haven’t been able to keep track of all the recipes I’ve been using this week, so I apologize for that! I promise I’ll get my butt back on here ASAP. By the way, check me out on instagram! (Thumbnail on the right-hand sidebar, or @G1_N4)

In the meantime, I wanted to share the perfect quick snack (that’s healthy) that is one of my fallbacks when I don’t have much time. It’s microwave popcorn! I know, some people still think that microwave popcorn is unhealthy, but that’s only if you’re still buying it in the bag. Recent food trends have uncovered a way to make your own preservative-free popcorn – no air popper necessary.
Popcorn is loaded with fiber (it’s the only grain that we eat entirely; no removing husks or anything) and is a great unrefined carb. 1 cup popped = 30 calories. This recipe makes about 3 cups.

IMG_0101Microwave Popcorn

 

  • 2 tablespoons popcorn
  • pinch salt
  • oil, coconut oil, butter of choice

Just put the kernels in a brown paper lunch bag, drizzle some olive oil, coconut oil, or butter, sprinkle on some salt and seasoning, fold the bag over, and microwave for 2-3 minutes, depending on your microwave’s strength. Stop when the popcorn pops greater than every 2 seconds.

Some of my favorite variations:

  • shake on some Furikake (Japanese rice flakes after popping)

  • sweet cinnamon sugar (1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1 tablespoon white sugar before popping)
  • kettle corn style, salty & sweet (1-2 tablespoons white sugar before popping)
  • chocolatey goodness (add 1 teaspoon cocoa powder before popping)
  • spicy snacking (pinch cayenne or replace salt with chili powder before popping)

Get creative, enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Quick-but-healthy popcorn

  1. I love popcorn! Problem is that we decided to not have a microwave in our new kitchen (budget was not sufficient for all our wishes) so we can still make popcorn but it’s just not the same… But now you made me want a microwave again!

    • Aww bummer! I did a really easy way stove top, too. Put a bit of oil in the bottom of a deep pot, throw the kernels in, but the lid on after about 30 seconds, and then wait until popping slows. Good luck!

  2. What a great idea…and I have a whole bunch of brown paper lunch bags…excellent…thanks for the tip!

  3. I (Sarah) love pop corn! Such a great and simple recipe Gina! Thanks for sharing and appreciate you mentioning how low in calories it is! 😉

  4. Simply delicious….
    but forgive me, i love my popcorn with tons od chopped rendered crispy bacon!!!

Leave a Reply

