New Ingredient: Young Garbanzo Beans (Young Chickpeas)

We’re well on our way to summer!

 

Temperatures are reaching nearly a hundred degrees this week. Seriously? What IS nice is that the mornings are now like, 70 degrees (instead of a chilly 50 earlier this year, ugh), so I can comfortably wear the same outfit all day. No shedding sweaters for me anymore! That being said, I’m only a student, so that prime time between when the sun rises and hits the very top of the sky, at the perfect temperature: I’m stuck in class. 

 

Yes, boo hoo for me. At least there’s only a month left until we’re out of those cold, air-conditioned classrooms. Temperatures aside, let’s enjoy the season while we have it! There are so many new vegetables coming in; spring is prime for young ones, too, and I stumbled upon some of these beauties when I was at Whole Foods. 

What are they? Young garbanzo beans! (Or chickpeas as you may know them). They were sold in their shells, and inside each shell is a little green bean. How cute! I bought a small handful, knowing how time consuming it would be to peel them. That being said – I have no experience with these little guys. The only time I’d ever seen them was on the tv show Chopped; I vaguely remembered they were sautéed, but this wasn’t enough to quell my curiosity. So my research began! 

 

Turns out you should never boil them, but they’re good prepared steamed, roasted, sautéed, or even raw! When they’re boiled, they’re akin to nasty over-cooked lima beans, ew. Dorothy over at shockinglydelicious gave a ton of suggestions at her site, too, one that I found particularly interesting being to roast them in a pan with a bit of oil and blend of salt, cumin, chili powder, and other spices for 5 minutes. That’s a pretty amazing sounding recipe over there!

What I did was simply steam them for about 6 minutes, and snack on them plain. They’re something like fresh peas or edamame, I can’t put my finger on what, but mighty tasty to just mindlessly munch on if you find yourself sitting by the pool sometime. 

So if you run into these, buy them! They’re fun, healthy snacks that are just so adorable. 

7 thoughts on “New Ingredient: Young Garbanzo Beans (Young Chickpeas)

  1. You’re so lucky to have found them!
    Another method to prepare them is to roast them with the skin on. This way the skin browns a bit and gives them a smoky aroma, and the grain is steamed naturally inside the skin. Sprinkle with salt and serve as a snack, or peel once they’re cool and use in salads.

  2. So glad you tried them. It’s pretty fun to discover new-to-us foods, eh? Thanks for the shout out for my post on what to do with them. If you peel them after school, you can saute them in a skillet with whatever spice blend you like, just in time for Scandal. 🙂 You have now made me crave them!

    • I was pretty much clueless as to what to do with them; your post was super helpful to get me situated as to what to actually DO with them 😉 Thank you so much for stopping by!

  3. Interesting! I’ve never heard of young garbanzos before but I’ll be sure to keep an eye out for them! Thanks for the info.

Leave a Reply

